Maturity Model


The Cybersecurity Program Maturity Model (CRF-MM), developed by the Cybersecurity Risk Foundation (CRF), represents a strategic blueprint for organizations aiming to fortify their cybersecurity defenses. This comprehensive guide is designed to assist Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs) and cybersecurity leaders in navigating the complexities of digital security, offering a structured pathway to enhance cybersecurity practices systematically.

Why the CRF-MM Matters

In an era where cyber threats evolve with daunting speed and complexity, the CRF-MM stands as a critical tool for organizations. It provides a clear framework for assessing current cybersecurity postures, identifying improvement areas, and strategically advancing security practices across five levels of maturity. From foundational safeguards to a sophisticated, monitored cybersecurity environment, the CRF-MM outlines actionable steps and best practices for each stage of the maturity journey.

the Maturity Model Levels

The CRF-MM delineates a journey through five distinct maturity levels, each characterized by specific safeguards and practices:

  1. Foundational: Establishing critical baseline protections necessary for any cybersecurity program.
  2. Hygiene: Focusing on routine cybersecurity practices that ensure software and hardware integrity and secure access controls.
  3. Governed: Implementing strategic planning and policy enforcement mechanisms across cybersecurity programs.
  4. Controlled: Incorporating advanced technical controls and detailed management practices for enhanced security.
  5. Monitored: Achieving continuous improvement and adaptation of cybersecurity practices, ensuring optimal performance and alignment with business objectives.

Intended Audience

This model is crucial for Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs), IT managers, and cybersecurity professionals committed to enhancing their organization’s cybersecurity strategies and operations.

Key Takeaways

Adopting the CRF’s Maturity Model will equip your organization with the knowledge and structure to elevate your cybersecurity measures effectively. It provides a clear roadmap for developing and refining cybersecurity practices that are robust, resilient, and adaptable to new challenges.

Frequently Asked Questions

The CRF-MM (Maturity Model) is a framework developed by the Cybersecurity Risk Foundation and IANS Research, designed to guide organizations in enhancing their cybersecurity maturity through five levels, from foundational to monitored safeguards.

Adopting the CRF-MM helps organizations systematically improve their cybersecurity defenses, align security practices with business objectives, and ensure resilience against evolving cyber threats.

The five levels are Foundational, Hygiene, Governed, Controlled, and Monitored, each representing a stage in the maturity of an organization's cybersecurity program.

Yes, organizations can navigate the CRF-MM independently. However, collaborating with cybersecurity experts can provide additional insights and support, enhancing the effectiveness of the maturity assessment and improvement process.

It's recommended to reassess your cybersecurity maturity annually using the CRF-MM. This ensures your cybersecurity measures remain effective and aligned with the latest threats, technologies, and business objectives.

Become a member

Direct to your inbox

Provide your email address below, and we’ll instantly send this document to your inbox.

By submitting your email, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions